The Odyssey or Oedipus the King?

Published February 10, 2014 by wouldbewitch

So did I enjoy the Odyssey or Oedipus the king more and why?

This is a tough question to answer. Both had there ups and downs with me. The Odyssey was a great story and I loved the concept of it, but it was tough to get through. Half of the time I didn’t know what was going on and had to look at spark notes. The discussions we had in class though were really enlightening and made me understand the story more.

With that being said I had no problem at all following Oedipus. It was a lot easier to read and I knew exactly what was going on. The plot for this one was interesting, but didn’t quite hold my attention like the Odyssey did. I’m a sucker for adventure..not incest. lol I liked Oedipus the king, but I guess I didn’t like the whole prophecy thing. Don’t get me wrong I actually enjoy reading books about prophecies, but this one rubed me the wrong way. It was probably the whole trying to kill your kid part.

So I happened to like The Odyssey more even though it took me forever to finish it. I enjoy Adventure and just learning all the things they did. I find it exciting and stories like this usually hold my attention more.

Leave a Reply

